PUBLISHED TERMS · SIDE BY SIDE

Otter.ai vs MeetGeek: free meeting-note limits compared

AI note takers differ most in how much they will transcribe for free and what you can keep afterwards. Count your meetings per month, then check allowance, per-meeting caps, storage and export rules together.

Editorial updated Sep 24, 2026. Provider source-review dates are listed separately for each tool.

Questions to settle before choosing

How many meeting hours do you have?

Compare the monthly allowance with your real calendar. A per-conversation cap can matter more than the monthly total if your meetings run long.

Do you need to export the notes?

Some free plans keep transcripts inside the app only. Check the download row if notes must go into another tool or be kept long term.

How long must notes be kept?

Storage windows on free plans can be short. If you need an archive, compare the storage limits and paid-plan retention before relying on a free plan.

Compare the plan details

Published access and restrictions
Plan detailOtter.aiMeetGeek
Access typeOngoing free planOngoing free plan
Free allowance300 transcription minutes monthly, with 30 minutes per conversation and three lifetime file imports.Free Basic plan with 3 hours of transcription per month, AI summaries, AI chat and search, 3 months of transcript storage and 1 month of audio storage.
Downloads on freeYesNo
Watermark on freeNot confirmedNot applicable
Commercial use on freeNot confirmedNot confirmed
Credit card requiredNot confirmedNot confirmed
Published paid-plan termsPro: $16.99/user/month, or $8.33/user/month effective with annual billing; includes 1,200 monthly minutes and 10 file imports per month.Pro: $15.99/user/month (annual billing advertised at up to 40% less); Business: $27/user/month with unlimited transcription.
Main restrictionBasic caps conversations at 30 minutes and file imports at three lifetime. Output reuse rights and watermark policy are not stated.The free plan cannot download or export transcripts, keeps transcripts for 3 months, and caps transcription at 3 hours a month.
Sources reviewedSep 23, 2026Sep 27, 2026

“Not confirmed” and “Not applicable” do not mean yes. Compare billing periods and restrictions alongside prices; different allowance units are not directly equivalent.

Read the restrictions and original sources

Otter.ai

Live meeting transcription with speaker labels, summaries, AI chat, and transcript exports.

Keep in mind: Basic caps conversations at 30 minutes and file imports at three lifetime. Output reuse rights and watermark policy are not stated.

The 300-minute free pool is shared across transcription types and does not roll over. Free accounts keep the 25 most recent conversations and can export MP3 and TXT. Otter's consumer terms restrict service use but also say users retain their content rights; they do not clearly establish Basic-plan output reuse permission, so commercial remains unknown. No Basic watermark or card requirement was established.

Official sources reviewed Sep 23, 2026 · Some details remain unconfirmed.

Read Otter.ai plan details →

MeetGeek

AI meeting recorder that joins calls to transcribe, summarize and make meetings searchable, with a mobile app and Chrome extension.

Keep in mind: The free plan cannot download or export transcripts, keeps transcripts for 3 months, and caps transcription at 3 hours a month.

The Basic plan lists no download or export features. Pro raises the allowance to 20 hours per month with extra hours at $0.50 each; Business lists unlimited transcription.

Official sources reviewed Sep 27, 2026 · Some details remain unconfirmed.

Read MeetGeek plan details →

Choose around the requirement

Use the questions above to identify the allowance or permission your project requires. Check the matching source, then evaluate the actual workflow. These are source-based plan comparisons, not hands-on quality reviews or a measured ranking.

Explore and filter all tools →