PRACTICAL GUIDE · CHOOSE BY USE CASE

Free AI voice tools: generation, downloads and rights

For voice work, the useful question is whether you can finish and use the narration. Start with your script length, then check whether the plan lets you download the result and publish it for your intended purpose.

Editorial updated Sep 24, 2026. Provider source-review dates are listed separately for each tool.

Questions to settle before choosing

Estimate the narration.

Use the narration planner to turn script length and speaking pace into finished minutes. Allow for revised takes without assuming a fixed credit cost across voice models.

Follow the file to its destination.

Check whether you need an editor preview or a downloadable audio file. Read attribution and commercial permissions before adding the voiceover to a public project.

Separate a trial from a recurring plan.

The options below include different types of access. Choose based on whether you are evaluating a voice tool once or returning to it regularly.

Estimate your narration workload →

A selection to explore

An editorial selection, not a measured ranking. Access types and restrictions remain visible, including trials or paid access where relevant.

EL

ElevenLabs

Voice & audio

Text-to-speech generator with lifelike voices, multilingual speech, adjustable delivery, and downloadable audio.

Ongoing free plan

10,000 credits monthly, enough for roughly 10 minutes of text to speech.

  • ↳Narration & voiceovers
  • ✓Free downloads

Keep in mindFree audio is non-commercial and needs attribution when published. TTS downloads are supported; a free-audio watermark policy is not stated.

See plan details Sources reviewed
Oct 4, 2026
MU

Murf

Voice & audio

Browser voiceover studio with AI voices, text-to-speech editing, and paid commercial licensing.

Free trial / starter credits

10 voice-generation minutes in a free workspace; no credit card required.

  • ↳Narration & voiceovers
  • ·No free downloads

Keep in mindFree access has no downloads or commercial rights. Murf does not state whether its preview is watermarked.

See plan details Sources reviewed
Sep 23, 2026

Check the original sources

The plan summaries above come from the current catalog. Each tool has its own source-review date; this guide’s editorial date does not refresh those checks.

ElevenLabs

Official sources reviewed Oct 4, 2026 · Some details remain unconfirmed.

Murf

Official sources reviewed Sep 23, 2026 · Some details remain unconfirmed.

Make a shortlist for your project

Start with the requirement you cannot compromise on, then use the finder to compare matching plans. Read the complete restrictions before relying on a free allowance for repeat work.

Filter and compare the catalog →