PUBLISHED TERMS · SIDE BY SIDE

ElevenLabs vs Murf: free voice access and export limits

Start with the narration you need to deliver: a private voice experiment, an audio file, or a finished piece for publication. Generation time is only one part of the decision; the ability to export and the permission to use the result can determine whether a plan fits.

Editorial updated Sep 24, 2026. Provider source-review dates are listed separately for each tool.

Questions to settle before choosing

Do you need an audio file?

Check the download row before estimating the number of scripts you can generate. Listening to an editor preview does not establish that you can export it.

Will the narration earn money?

Read the commercial-use restriction and any attribution requirement together. A downloadable file does not by itself establish permission for a monetized project.

Is this a one-off experiment or repeat work?

Compare the access type and reset rules. Use the narration planner to estimate finished minutes, then allow for revisions without assuming that every model uses credits at the same rate.

Compare the plan details

Published access and restrictions
Plan detailElevenLabsMurf
Access typeOngoing free planFree trial / starter credits
Free allowance10,000 credits monthly, enough for roughly 10 minutes of text to speech.10 voice-generation minutes in a free workspace; no credit card required.
Downloads on freeYesNo
Watermark on freeNot confirmedNot confirmed
Commercial use on freeNoNo
Credit card requiredNoNo
Published paid-plan termsStarter: $6/month, or $5/month effective with annual billing; includes 30,000 credits and a commercial license.Creator: $19/month when billed $228 annually; includes 24 voice-generation hours per year, unlimited downloads, and commercial rights.
Main restrictionFree audio is non-commercial and needs attribution when published. TTS downloads are supported; a free-audio watermark policy is not stated.Free access has no downloads or commercial rights. Murf does not state whether its preview is watermarked.
Sources reviewedOct 4, 2026Sep 23, 2026

“Not confirmed” and “Not applicable” do not mean yes. Compare billing periods and restrictions alongside prices; different allowance units are not directly equivalent.

Read the restrictions and original sources

ElevenLabs

Text-to-speech generator with lifelike voices, multilingual speech, adjustable delivery, and downloadable audio.

Keep in mind: Free audio is non-commercial and needs attribution when published. TTS downloads are supported; a free-audio watermark policy is not stated.

The account's credits are shared across ElevenLabs products, but this listing measures text to speech only. The official TTS page estimates roughly 10 audio minutes from the free allowance; model choice can change consumption. ElevenLabs documents downloads after generation and from TTS history, but does not state a universal watermark rule for free TTS audio.

Official sources reviewed Oct 4, 2026 · Some details remain unconfirmed.

Read ElevenLabs plan details →

Murf

Browser voiceover studio with AI voices, text-to-speech editing, and paid commercial licensing.

Keep in mind: Free access has no downloads or commercial rights. Murf does not state whether its preview is watermarked.

Murf describes the free workspace as having 10 minutes rather than a monthly refill. The Creator plan lists 24 hours of voice generation per year. Free downloads and commercial rights are explicitly excluded; Murf does not state whether the preview itself carries a watermark.

Official sources reviewed Sep 23, 2026 · Some details remain unconfirmed.

Read Murf plan details →

Choose around the requirement

Use the questions above to identify the allowance or permission your project requires. Check the matching source, then evaluate the actual workflow. These are source-based plan comparisons, not hands-on quality reviews or a measured ranking.

Explore and filter all tools →